20/08/2022 - This Week

Things are very busy at the moment, probably the busiest I've been since I became a software developer. Deadlines looming, trying to keep clients happy, fixing bugs, and stepping in for tech-support here and there have all contributed towards a generally hectic week.

What have I learned? Well, I think I'm starting to realise I have a genuine preference for front-end development. I'm more interested in learning it, and I enjoy building UI's much more than back-end code. Next thing is to make time for Vue & Inertia, as I really need to up my knowledge of reactive frameworks.

I've also realised that I need to spend more time reading code in order to really develop. Most of the time I'm using stack overflow or watching tutorials, which is essentially just someone showing me how to use certain technologies. I'd have a much better understanding if I spent longer looking at source code and putting the pieces of the puzzle together myself.

I found some time for frontend practice for the first time in a while. I'm going to try and use BEM naming conventions for the next one and see how I find it.

I have had a lot more project management responsibilities recently as well which I have learned a lot from. I plan to make a note of all my learnings soon so I can reflect on them properly.

A summary of my todos:

  • Spend more time reading code

  • Build something with Livewire, Vue, and Inertia (I have a few project ideas noted down)

  • Lessons from project management failings