A New Purpose For Blogging

When I was learning to code, I used Hashnode as a way of reinforcing my knowledge by writing on simple CSS or JavaScript ideas that I had recently learnt about myself. I wasn't sure where I wanted to go with it - part of me wanted to grow a small online presence, part of me wanted to dip my toes in content-creation as a career path, and part of me wanted to just be more involved in the dev community.

I stopped blogging because I didn't make time for it, but I'm picking it back up again with a new purpose. I'm still early in my development career, so I like the thought of using this as a progress marker in the years to come.

What will I write about? Not sure. Probably just what I'm doing at work, what I'm spending time on in the evenings, and how I feel about software development in general. My goal is to post weekly, but I'm not going to beat myself up if it turns out to be monthly instead.

At the moment I'm dipping my toes into Vue.js. I'm mainly in the Laravel ecosystem but looking to add a reactive front-end and Vue seems like a sensible choice. I like React, but I feel like Vue is less all-encompassing from what I've seen so far. I've got a few small projects I want to build once I feel ready, I'm currently going through the introduction to Vue series on Laracasts. I'm a bit confused on how to link Vue and Laravel together at the moment, but I'm sure things will become clearer.

I've also started working through the projects outlined in Front End Practice. This should have the benefit of 1) improving my front-end skills (I've already learnt better ways to display navigation bars which have items on opposite ends of the screen), and 2) making me more consistent when it comes to working on things outside of my job. If I can just put it 10 minutes a day with a single GitHub commit at the end of it, I'm happy. Progress will build over time with consistency.

Anyway, back to it - I'm on holiday in the Peaks and had enough of screens for today.